High Performance Teams

I’ve had the good fortune to work with a consult with a number of organizations who are looking to continue to help individuals and teams be more successful.  Often this takes the form of self managed,  self directed work teams, participative management or high performance work systems.  (Purists of one of these methods might squabble about me lumping them together, but that isn’t my focus here or ever).

 In my work, I see many examples of these concepts at work and working well, so I was happy to read a piece from a long time practitioner – both as a leader inside of organizations and as a consultant share his experiences and insights.

 Whether you are a proponent of self-directed teams or not, I encourage you to read this very insightful article by Ralph Sink called My Unfashionable Legacy.

His belief is that these approaches are moving out of favor, despite their success. 

I’ll leave you to read the article and then ponder these questions.  Feel free to share your answers in the comments.

What is your experience?

 Do you agree with the author on the trend? 

What is the role of the remarkable leader in these approaches?

Leave a Reply

