Another Definition of Remarkable

Seve MartinI’ve been a fan of Steve Martin since the King Tut and arrow-through-the-head days. Now, I can’t wait to read his new book, Born Standing Up (I bought it for my son for Christmas, and I told him to read quickly!)

I’ve always felt he was smart and talented in so many ways, and this quote from his recent interview with Charlie Rose, proves my point.

At the very end, he gave his advice to someone who’s trying to make it in any field: “Be undeniably good.”

“When people ask me how do you make it in show business or whatever, what I always tell them — And nobody ever takes note of it ‘cuz it’s not the answer they wanted to hear. What they want to hear is here’s how you get an agent, here’s how you write a script, here’s how you do this — But I always say, “Be so good they can’t ignore you.” If somebody’s thinking, “How can I be really good?”, people are going to come to you. It’s much easier doing it that way than going to cocktail parties.”

I believe that Martin’s concept of undeniably good is much like my concept of remarkable.  Since we are focusing in leadership (and not stand up, for example), I might have used slightly different wording. Really, though, I’d only make one addition –  all of us can be remarkable if we work from who we are, not patterning ourselves after someone else, but truly becoming  our own version of of remarkable.

Will it require work?  Of course it will – but when head towards the destination from our strengths, and move confidently knowing it is possible, our path will be easier and more enjoyable.

Thanks to 37Signals for the quotation.

One Response to “Another Definition of Remarkable”

  1. deckplateleader Says:

    Terrific advice by Steve Martin and I believe you made a perfect addition to it. You can only be good in it if it comes from your inner sole. It’s a unique passion that can’t be replicated by anybody else.

    Mark Victor Hansen said once, “Belief dictates your actions. Your actions dictate your results…but first you have to believe.”

    If what you do or the goals that you set don’t stem from who you are, your own personal core values, then you are likely not going to be successful in your ventures. Only when your actions fall into line with your own personal values will you start to believe in what you are doing and build the confidence to lead and be successful, which is crucial because if you don’t believe in yourself then how can you expect others to follow?

    Great post. I’m looking forward to giving your material a read and learning from you.

    ~D
    http://www.deckplateleadership.net

Leave a Reply

