Which Five Books Should the Presidential Candidates Read?

John McCain

John McCain

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A couple of weeks ago, I read a post from The Book Maven, titled, similarly, Which Five Books Should a Candidate Read?  This post suggested fiction books that would help or prepare a candidate for office.  I loved this idea, but I am much more of a non-fiction reader, and so after pondering this post for awhile, and carrying around my list of suggestions, here it goes.

I spend a lot of time thinking about this list, and I am sure it is biased by my views both in terms of what I want a President to do in office, and what books I like and agree with.  Given those two caveats, I thought about what I want them to read now – before they get into office – to set them up for success while in office.  Here is my top list of five, in no particular order, with some rationale associated with each suggestion.

Team of Rivals – The Politcial Genius of Abraham Lincoln by Doris Kearns Goodwin.  A tremendously well written book about the political choices of one of our finest Presidents and how he worked with his Cabinet.   Enough said?  You can read my recommendation of the book here (scroll to the bottom).

Yes! 50 Scientifically Proven Ways to Be More Persuasive by Noah J. Goldstein, Steve J. Martin, and Robert B. Cialdini.  I want a President who is persausive so that their work can accomplish something.  With so many groups to work with, and so any people to persuade, this books is a must.  Here is my full recommendation.

Little Gold Book of YES! Attitude: How to Find, Build and Keep a YES! Attitude for a Lifetime of SUCCESSby Jeffrey Gitomer.  Do I want a President who has a strong positive attitude,one that is maintained and that he can “infect” others with?  Absolutely.  This is a great book to help with that – besides a little of JEffrey’s approach will make them smile – and give them sound bites.  We know how politicians love sound bites!  Here is my full recommendation (scroll down).

The Energy Bus by Jon Gordon.  I can’t think of any job that requires more energy and this book will help anyone create more for themselves and those around them.  Besides, it is a quick read, and I know these guys are busy.  Here is my full recommendation (scroll down).

 Remarkable Leadership – Unleashing Your Leadership Potential One Skill at a Timeby Kevin Eikenberry.   You didn’t really expect me to leave this off, did you?  Read excerpts and download a sample chapter here.

Today, a letter with a point to this post, along with a copy of one of the books on the list (can you guess which one?) is going to each candidates headquarters.  🙂

I’d love to read your comments on my list – and see your suggested books as well!

Leave a Reply

