Are You a Positician?

Recently I was introduced to Nancy Fursetzer, owner of Silver Linings Unlimited in Minneapolis, and Founder and CEO of The Positician Training Institute. After a phone call that ended with me feeling I’d know Nancy for a long time, I wanted to share some of her message with you.

Here is a portion of an interview I did (via email) with her.

Kevin: What does the word “Positician” mean?

Nancy: A Positician is a person trained to listen for the positive in every situation; one who strives to uncover the hidden good. As a verb, it is the art of repositioning thoughts and ideas, to create new perspectives and shed positive light on situations.

Kevin: How does the Positician philosophy differ from positive thinking?

Nancy: Positive thinking is a wonderful attitude, a great filter through which to view life. But sometimes life deals us some discouraging circumstances. At the point where pain has already set in, “positive thinking” can become an outward veil of denial, which inadvertently shames the sufferer for their inability to “keep their chin up.” The predominant side effect is that authentic pain, frustration and fear are not honored, acknowledged, or vented, leading to deeper isolation.

On the contrary, the Positician philosophy gives everyone the opportunity to tell their whole story. In a Positician coaching session, you are encouraged to discuss the reality, intensity, and discomfort of your feelings. This uninterrupted flow of thoughts frees you to express yourself without judgment, often seeing the full scope of the issue – and its possible resolutions – for the first time. The Positician’s role is to listen with compassion (what we call “Hospitality of the Heart”) and look for a seed of goodness within your story that may be hidden from view.

Kevin: You mention Positician coaching. How does it differ from traditional therapy or counseling?

Nancy: Traditional therapy is based on applying a set of scientifically proven theories and solutions to circumstances being discussed by a patient. I wholeheartedly support this process. However, this is not the role of a Positician.

A Positician simply encourages you to broaden your perspectives and look for a light in the tunnel. Insight is based on the listener’s personal experience as they put themselves in the speaker’s shoes. This makes the Positician opportunity available to all people, anytime, anywhere.

Kevin: What results can people expect?

Nancy: You can expect to feel your burden lifting. You’ll see things from new perspectives, and appreciate your own. If you decide to become a trained Positician and engage in the Positician lifestyle, you become part of a large network committed to confidentiality, trust, and unconditional acceptance.

Kevin: Are you so positive – what choices and experiences led to that?

Nancy: I wasn’t born this way. It took years of heartache to realize I created my own pain, and I can un-create it. Like many of us, I have lived through various forms of disappointment, disability, loss, and grief. I challenged myself to turn every negative into a positive, and consequently, I’ve witnessed the miracles of recovery and new growth.

I accept I can’t change what happened, but I’ve learned to change how I think about what happened. In this light – with time – a whole new world emerges. The good that I strive to uncover often rises to the surface in grand style!

Kevin: How did you come up with the idea, and phrase Positician?

Nancy: I’ve worked with hospice patients for 12 years, and as a hospice volunteer, I cannot offer any advice or solutions because there are none. I simply listen to stories, acknowledge emotions, and witness the validation of being heard.Positician® Training Institute was born: Teaching people to listen with unconditional acceptance. Instead of listening for what I can fix, I listen for the silver lining.
Kevin: Thanks Nancy for sharing these important ideas with us.

One day it occurred to me that people shouldn’t have to be terminal to be heard . . . and the intention for the

The word “Positician” combines posit (to position) with -cian, meaning “one who is trained.” Beauticians, statisticians, electricians – even magicians – all have a skill and practice their trade. My skill is shining a positive light on any story, and I just keep on practicing!

Why did I choose to share these ideas with you?

Because when you have her frame of reference you will be a more effective in all facets of your life – personally, professionally, relationally and more.

I strongly urge you to take a look at Nancy’s site, take a look at her training options and thik about the following questions:

 – how could this positician view influence my leadership style?

 – how might it change my results?

 – what is the most valuable contribution this approach would have for me?

Tags:

Leave a Reply

